Return to MyLocalTV

Bookmark and Share
Saskatchewan Order of Merit Recipients for 2017

Ten individuals from across the province are being recognized for their efforts through the Saskatchewan Order of Merit. This year's recipients include: Murad Al-Katib, Business Owner and Exporter, Regina;June Avivi, Retired Educator, Saskatoon;Martha Cole, Artist, Lumsden; Roland Crowe, Retired First Nations Leader, Regina; Rod Gantefoer, Businessman and Former Politician, Melfort; Paul J. Hill, C.M., Businessman and Philanthropist, Regina; Robert Laing, Former Chief Justice, Court of Queen's Bench, Saskatoon; Dr. Roberta McKay, Physician and Philanthropist, Regina; Robert Mitchell, Q.C., Former Attorney General and Lawyer, Regina (Posthumous); Brigadier General (Ret’d) Clifford Walker, C.D., Retired Canadian Forces and Educator, Regina.

Established in 1985, the Saskatchewan Order of Merit recognizes excellence, achievement and contributions to the social, cultural and economic well-being of the province and its people. It acknowledges individuals who have made their mark in the arts, agriculture, business, industry, community leadership, occupations, professions, public service, research and volunteer service. The official presentation will take place this fall with the Lieutenant Governor presiding.

SWTV News Image.

Copyright Overtime Communications Ltd. 2017